All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG)
Building on the findings of the #StatusofMind report by RSPH, the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Social Media was established in March 2018.

The group's purpose is to drive policy change that mitigates the negatives and maximises the positives of social media for young people. In July 2020, responsibility for the APPG was passed from RSPH to the UK Safer Internet Centre. 

In 2019, the APPG on Social Media has published its report on the Group’s Inquiry, #NewFilters to manage the impact of social media on young people’s mental health and wellbeing. This is the first national Inquiry specifically examining the impact of social media on the mental health and wellbeing of young people, which ran from April 2018 to January 2019. 

The report explores the positive and negative health impacts of social media, as well as putting forward recommendations to protect young social media users from potential health harms. 

The APPG has put forward a number of policy recommendations, including:

  • Establish a duty of care on all social media companies with registered UK users aged 24 and under in the form of a statutory code of conduct, with Ofcom to act as regulator
  • Create a Social Media Health Alliance, funded by a 0.5% levy on the profits of social media companies, to fund research, educational initiatives and establish clearer guidance for the public
  • Review whether the “addictive” nature of social media is sufficient for official disease classification 
  • Urgently commission robust, longitudinal research, into understanding the extent to which the impact of social media on young people’s mental health and wellbeing is one of cause or correlation


The Parliamentary Launch of #NewFilters to manage the impact of social media on young people’s mental health and wellbeing

1 of 11
2 of 11
3 of 11
4 of 11
5 of 11
6 of 11
7 of 11
8 of 11
9 of 11
10 of 11
11 of 11

MPs and stakeholders joined RSPH to mark the launch of the APPG in Parliament on 18 April 2018

1 of 34

William Wragg MP, Secretary, welcomes the launch of the APPG

2 of 34

Dr Becky Inkster, Neuroscientist at Cambridge University, speaks on the need for social media platforms to get serious about mental wellbeing

3 of 34

Niamh McDade (RSPH) and the team at Studio Output discuss how to maximise the positives whilst mitigating the negatives of social media on young people’s mental health and wellbeing

4 of 34

Ed Morrow (RSPH) and Desmond Swayne, MP for New Forest West, discuss plans for the APPG

5 of 34

Liam Preston MP

6 of 34

Jim Fitz MP

7 of 34

Becky Inkster, Neuroscientist, University of Cambridge

8 of 34

Kate Hollern MP

9 of 34

Chris Elmore MP, APPG Chair

10 of 34

Sir David Amess MP

11 of 34

Ian Lucas MP

12 of 34

Coleen Fletcher MP

13 of 34

Mike Hill MP

14 of 34

Jan Nixon, Rise Above, Public Health England

15 of 34

Karin Smyth MP

16 of 34

Gareth Snell MP

17 of 34

Sandy Martin MP

18 of 34

Helen Whatley MP

19 of 34

Tulip Siddiq MP

20 of 34

Yewande Okuleye, Research Associate, University of Leicester

21 of 34

Fiona Owasanya MP

22 of 34

Andrew Gwynne MP

23 of 34

Nic Dakin MP

24 of 34

Tom Brake MP

25 of 34

Neil Parish MP

26 of 34

Ben Bradley MP

27 of 34

William Wragg MP

28 of 34

Mhairi Black MP

29 of 34

Judith Cummins MP

30 of 34

Tan Dhesi MP

31 of 34

Mims Davies MP

32 of 34

Tracy Brabin MP

33 of 34

Bambos Charalambous MP

34 of 34

Barbara Keeley MP

Secretariat functions are provided by RSPH. If you would like to be informed of the next meeting or would like more information on how you can get involved please email Niamh McDade. Find out more about the terms of reference here.

This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. AII-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group.

View archived material relating to the APPG.